Summer Kale Salad

IMG_1759

I am going to be honest, I cannot take complete credit for this recipe. This is Whole Foods recipe that my sister made when she worked at Whole Foods. She said this was the most popular prepared food she would have to make! I thought it would be great for the blog, since it is SO EASY. This would be great to make the night before or in between classes. I said it yields 8 servings, but it may be a little bit less. Depends on how much you are going to eat. My family has about 6 servings when we make this (since we have more then 1 cup of the salad). This recipe has become a staple in our families summer dinners. Let me know what you think!

xo Jackie

Prep Time: 10 minutes Chill Time: min of 20 minutes Yields: 8 servings

Ingredients:IMG_1757

  • 1 bag of kale
  • 1/4 cup of chopped apples (can also be dried apples)
  • 1/4 cup of cranberries
  • 1 small shallot (chopped)
  • 1/2 orange, with a little bit of zest
  • 3 tbs of olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tbs of champagne vinegar
  • a drizzle of honey
  • 1/2 cup of chopped almonds

Directions:

Soak the shallots in orange juice, olive oil an champagne vinegar. Let it sit for 10minutes. Next add the rest of the ingredients and let sit. The longer it sits, the better.

Calories: 136

Protein: 3.2g

Sodium: 23mg

Fat: 8.5g

Carbohydrates: 14.7g

WW+pts: +4 pts

3 comments

Leave a comment